Skip to content

Hutch Hitch and Havoc

April 27, 2007
by

I have been using my Hutch connection/number ever since I got a mobile connection, that was 3 years ago. I’ve been pretty happy with the service (not to mention the orange color which recently changed to pink and my number… Oh! I love my number… I had once lectured my brother on the importance of a mobile number in a person’s life!!). Initially I had a prepaid connection which I had thought I would never change cause I’ve always preferred Prepaid over Postpaid.
Then one month ago a guy called me and told me about the ‘amazing’ S/M/L plan in Hutch. What he ‘conveniently’ forgot to tell me and I ‘heartily’ did not ask (or let me put it this way, I took for granted) was the fact that the plan which is ‘best’ for me (Full Value 199) is only for local phone calls. I thought that the 199 value is the money I can spend making STD calls, sending SMSes, which I mostly do. He gave me wrong information about the money carry forward too… telling me that if I don’t spend the total Rs. 199 , then the balance will get carried forward to the next month. But this is not so… no matter how much I spend (from Rs. 0 to Rs. 199) I will have to pay Rs. 199 every month (oh btw, this 199 is exclusive of the tax… so adding 12.25% tax it comes to about Rs.224 per month). Again, he told me that even though he would be providing me with a Postpaid SIM card my connection will still remain a Prepaid one (I didn’t understand what this really meant, but still, I was, I guess, too happy too see myself saving a little money in my pocket, to cross check the information he gave me). So, now I am stranded with a plan which was never for me. And I have wasted Rs. 928 (there were security deposits (which I’ll never get since I haven’t used this plan for at least 6 months), taxes, a prepaid recharge card (which I had to take while waiting for the activation of the plan) and hooplahs involved and I have also added the prepaid balance I had from before which I had saved with so much difficulty!)
Hence, now, I just don’t have any other option but to leave this connection (since, Postpaid cannot be changed to Prepaid), Hutch and above all my beloved number 😦 ) before I spend another 1000 bucks to get my security deposit of Rs. 300 back!

Looking out for a new prepaid connection… any suggestions?

Btw MORAL: Always crosscheck from everywhere possible before taking the plunge!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2007 8:00 AM

    change ur service provider. BSNL is the best

  2. crankywriter permalink*
    April 27, 2007 5:29 PM

    I hope I get a good deal this time and Im not cheated 😦
    btw… I think I’ll take SMART… all my friends have it… and it has great discounts too!! 🙂
    anyways… thanx for commenting 😀

Leave a Reply

