Skip to content

Sunglasses

May 25, 2007
by

I usually go to college by this bus. It is good in a way that it’s the cheapest means of transport and the people are very friendly compared to the other private/public/mini buses that tend to be over-‘professional’ and take more money and the seats are very bad. The bus I’m talking about has relatively better seating.

Anyways, that’s not what I want to talk about. There’s an incident that happened on this bus, yesterday.

Its summer and the heat and rays makes every skin and health conscious person to carry a water bottle, an umbrella and a pair of sunglasses wherever he/she goes. I don’t think that I’m any different and so, I do carry them at all times.

I got on this bus, yesterday morning, absolutely prepared with my summer busting equipment! The bus was packed with people and there was not even a little space to stand straight. Suddenly somebody said – you should come this side. I thought there must be a ladies seat empty there, that’s why he’s calling me. When I tried to go on the other side, there was no place to even move. I went with difficulty. I couldn’t find anything to hold on to. I swung my hands forward as if trying to hold on to something so that at least to not fall off on somebody.

I suddenly sensed at least 5 hands holding my hand, arm… whatever they could catch on to. I was surprised. What’s wrong? Why… didn’t you get a non-living cling?

I asked them to leave me. They left my hand. I could now almost stand still and felt safe that I wouldn’t fall off. I asked the lady sitting to hold my bag and umbrella so that I could grasp on the iron rod easily. The lady was looking at me weirdly. I didn’t understand. Suddenly I heard a guy call out to the conductor – can’t you get a seat for a blind lady here?!!

Blind lady?

Who’s the blind lady here? I looked around to see where that blind lady was… but what I saw threw me out of my senses. That “blind lady” was me. The passengers had thought that with the dark glasses on, I was blind!

Now, what do you call this? My embarrassment or people’s mundane minds?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2007 2:26 PM

    That’s the most funniest thing I’ve read all day long today – and I’ve been reading mostly funny things at Craigslist all day long. You should *so* post a snap of yourself wearing said ‘dark glasses’ here.

Leave a Reply

