Skip to content

Over The Rainbow – Harry Nilsson

April 30, 2009

I watched You’ve Got Mail again tonight. I have seen that whenever I’m anxious, depressed or stressed, light hearted, sweet movies help me relieve my nerves. After the 2 hours of pure bliss I don’t feel that tensed any more. The thing that really calms me down is a story which nice and enticing and enchanting. Although there are problems, they get solved in the end. All the heart aching stuff just culminates into something that warms the heart. And the music … that is such a pain reliever. Geoffrey Latham had said that “Music is the vernacular of the human soul“. He was SO right. It is for the soul. It helps to connect the body with the soul. And the music of “You’ve Got Mail” … well, whatever we say about it it would seem lesser than what I actually feel about it.

The one song that I want to talk about here is the one that I have heard in 2 movies actually … both Tom-Meg starrer – Sleepless In Seattle and of course, You’ve Got Mail.
“Somewhere Over The Rainbow…” as Harry Nilsson swoons in his operatic voice, life seems so beautiful. His larynx does have the power to allure the listener to a world pretty close to heaven.

Btw, FYI Ray Charles sang the same song in “Sleepless In Seattle”. The song is written by E.Y. Harburg and Harold Arlen.

Here I’m sharing the song with you … it is my all time favorites…

Lyrics:
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
There’s a land that I heard of, once in a lullaby
Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Really do come true

Someday I’ll wish upon a star,
And wake up where the cloouds are far behind me
Where troubles melt like lemon drops,
Away above the chimney tops
That’s where you’ll find me

Somewhere over the rainbow, bluebirds fly
Bird fly over the rainbow, why then, oh why can’t I
If happy little bluebirds fly beyond the rainbow,
Why, oh why can’t I?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 7:32 PM

    nice Song…

    well said… i remember feeling destressed after u watch movies with happy endings, eg u ‘ve got mail, the lakehouse, i think its probably what people who’re romantics at heart do.

    I dunno whether admitting this will do to my reputation, but i feel light headed after watching fairy tales , princes, n princesses n castles and happy romantic endings…lolz now i’m not gay or anything…but u cant watch life is beautiful or schindler’s list if ur sad.

  2. May 5, 2009 7:35 PM

    Btw, yours was amongt the first of many blogs i read way back in 2007.

    So ur on my blog roll for a long time now .
    Ur blog has a variety of stuff…and it sends out this strong sense of individuality u have.

  3. Point permalink
    September 25, 2009 8:40 AM

    Plz do change the video it’s no longer available.
    New link…… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=caRI5y43Nxg

    • crankywriter permalink*
      October 29, 2009 7:00 AM

      Thanks SO much 🙂

Leave a Reply

