Skip to content

Damn the RAM

May 7, 2009

After successful installation of a new monitor, I need to upgrade my computer’s RAM now. I love video editing and it gets stuck more often due to only the 512+256(which seems to have a problem) MBs that I have at my disposal.

Flashback ….Three weeks ago, I had set out to get the monitor of my dreams (See Part 1 and Part 2 of the Monitor adventure here) and the result was that I wasn’t disappointed (for now… at least). The monitor’s working fine and I’ve watched the BRILLIANT “Heroes” finale and awesome new episodes of “Smallville” and “Ugly Betty”. And the ever-romantic “You’ve Got Mail”. And yes, the most amazing gangster movie, “Goodfellas”! Watch it … it’s a treat!

Btw, this isn’t a review blog or even a redressal blog. Well, redressal …. umm…. well….

Ok, I admit …. I HATE computer apparels’ shopping. I have never shopped for clothes so madly as I’ve shopped for these computer related items… and I’m a GIRL! What kind of a girl am I?

Of course, the kind who has many brothers who know everything about computers and she herself had always depended on them for this stuff! Now that they are in the 3 other corners of the country, in my corner I’m stuck with usurping computer mechanics/engineers and cousins who basically know even less than what I know about this “Super Idiot Box!!”

So, well, … now that I’ve vented out my surface fristration lets come to the RAM cram ….
Sorry for trying to rhyme RAM …. Damn!!
😛

I have an almost 5 years old 256MB RAM which is still in excellent working condition and a few months old 512MB RAM, both of the same brand. Some days ago I realized that my computer isn’t working on both the RAMs together as there is something about matching the frequencies of both.
God, can’t these be a little more easier?! On top of this all, I’ve sucked at physics all my life!!

I’m crabby … and I’m cranky! Yippee! I’ve officially proved myself to be CRANKYWRITER.

To get more crankier… I’ll come back next time with a blog where I’ll say “Random Accessing Memory now!” as soon as this problem is solved. I really hope that I get my dream RAM soon.

Meanwhile, readers, if you can help with some technical knowledge… even the smallest help would be appreciated! 😀

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 2:43 AM

    Hmm ..

    Its almost impossible to say anything before knowing a) the ram frequencies and b) your motherboard specifications.

    Let me know if you get these 2 infos .. 🙂

    And you got a really nice blog in here. well done!

    • crankywriter permalink*
      May 9, 2009 3:32 PM

      Thanks for the help Aritra. My mother board is the 865 one (that’s what I heard my brother saying while talking to the shopkeeper)… Intel Pentium 4.
      RAM is PC400.

      And thank you SO much for liking this blog. I like it too 😛

  2. May 9, 2009 10:44 PM

    Just go in with the RAM which works at the moment and ask the guy at the shop to give a similar RAM. :p

    You can try out the Computer Exchange showroom at park street. Google and call them up before going. they have idiotic working schedule.

    🙂

    • crankywriter permalink*
      May 10, 2009 8:30 PM

      Thanks. But I needed more than 1 GB. What should I do?

  3. May 10, 2009 11:38 PM

    From what i understand your motherboard has 2 ram ports (lol , just a guess ) .. Get a single 1 GB RAM exchanging it with the current 512 MB.

    Make sure the specs are the same for the current RAM and the new 1 GB. You can go upto 2 / 4 GB.

    Dont do it yourself if you arent that familiar with these parts. 🙂

    • crankywriter permalink*
      May 11, 2009 9:33 AM

      Guess is wrong. There are 4 ports for RAM.
      Anyways, I cannot exchange my current 512 RAM. It was bought about 1 and half years ago, and recently replaced by the service centre because the last 512 RAM that I had had some physical damage.
      Question: Can I really team a 512MB,PC400 RAM with a 1GB,PC400 RAM and get an effective 1.5GB performance? Is there anyway to check the rate of performance?

Leave a Reply

