Skip to content

The Name is Khan and He Has Something To Say

February 13, 2010
My Name Is Khan Screenshot

My Name Is Khan - Screenshot

“My Name Is Khan and I’m not a Terrorist” … the sentence itself summarizes the crux and point of the whole movie. MNIK is a journey-based movie like Forrest Gump, Viva Cuba etc. The journey is about a man who wants to prove his love and innocence to the ones he loved the most, across the breadth of the US. The star of the movie is, of course, Khan (from the epiglottis) and others are simply supporting him. Do not want to discuss spoilers, but can’t help it …. I’d love to say a few things which I loved and hated about the movie.

So, *SPOILER ALERT*

What I loved –

  • Beautiful locales of the Grand Canyon, San Fransisco, Arizona, Washington DC are dotted throughout the movie. And that sight of San Fransisco at dawn was just breathtaking!
  • Kajol looked So gorgeous. She didn’t have much to do in the movie, but wherever she was she was the only one I wanted to concentrate on.
  • SRK has never done anything like this. He must be very proud of this particular movie. Wouldn’t be surprised if he gets awards for this character.
  • “Mere aakhon ke taare, mere budhhape ka sahare” … the best line!
  • This movie had so many mother-son pairs – Rizvan and his mom, Sameer and Mandira, Mama Jenny and Funny-Hair-Joel, Sarah and Reese. They all had an amazing presence throughout the movie. It’s a really good idea to watch this movie with your mom/son/daughter because after you’ve watched it and you feel emotional you can share a very warm hug.
  • Really liked the message that this movie gives… about humanity and the fact that the people in this world are divided into two – good and bad and that if you really want something, you will have to work for it, but ultimately you will get more than what you wished for.
  • KJo + SRK + Kajol = Winning Combination = Big Bucks into the Producers’ pockets

What I hated –

  • Highly sentimental movie yaar. Made me cry so much. Please take tissues with you … my fault I didn’t carry any.
  • Too less songs. Sajda and Tere Naina were soooo good, I wished there were more songs. Moreover, KJo + Shankar Ehsaan Loy and only 4 songs … how is that at all possible??
  • Kept thinking – if Autists cannot show emotions how come Khan could laugh when he was happy?
  • I wanted more of Kajol. She had a very small role 😦
  • I want to repeat this thing about Kajol … please do more movies Kajol… really miss you. You are truly the most amazing, vibrant, expressive and beautiful actress ever.

Concluding, all I’d like to say is I’m glad I was able to watch this movie in the very first week. This is a journey worth watching … actually it’s a must watch. You will learn so much from here yaar.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. vijay permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:42 PM

    I didn’t like my name is khan……….
    Its very old topic , Still sharukh did over acting……..
    his time is over he cant act like Swadesh

    • crankywriter permalink*
      February 15, 2010 12:32 PM

      thanks for an honest opnion Vijay … 🙂

  2. Shilpa permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:31 AM

    Well written review! Just saw the movie…finally!

    • crankywriter permalink*
      March 1, 2010 9:13 AM

      Thanks Shilpa. Much appreciate your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

