Skip to content

One Idiot watching 3 Idiots

February 20, 2010

Believe it or not … I watched 3 Idiots on 14th Feb (yes, Valentine’s Day) with my mother. It was the last day of the show at Nandan, the Rabindra Sadan located, government-funded cinema haven where everybody, even remotely, related to the world of the silver screen and theatre regards as the place of worship. It was a 6 pm show which I had to almost drag my mother into as she had already seen the movie on cable. My interest in watching the movie was only due to the overpopularity and overpublicity of the movie courtsey my friends and family. Some of my family members had watched it 4 times! I wanted to know what was it this movie which was 4 times watchable.

Settling down in my seat I realized I must be the only girl accompanying my mother rather than a boyfriend! It gave me a feeling of unique pride to be celebrating the “V-day” with my mother, the person I love the most on this planet. Guess, will be remembering this day for quite a long time, especially with a film as (presumably) epical as this.

3 Idiots

The film starts with quite some expectations in my mind. It was a pretty good movie trying to lock in drama, suspense, fun, emotions and quirky Raju Hirani-style characters, one-liners and even some moral. Some memorable moments were – the Chatur Ramalingam “Balatkar” speech, the “All izz well” moments and the table-tennis-table-child-delivery. I’m sure every person who has had experienced hostel life or is in the hostel life-stage in their life must have enjoyed the movie immensely.

Personally what I really loved in this movie (apart from the inspiration of going to Ladakh) is the little moral about keeping the heart fooled so that it does not get scared of a problematic situation. That gives one the courage to face hard-hitting situations in life.

Coming to the things I hated. Personally after watching MNIK just a day before I wasn’t at all in the position to be enjoying another Khan movie. I was pretty much dwelling in the halo created by King Khan. So, after watching this movie all that was in my mind are –

  1. This is a load of shit … who makes a helicopter in his first year of college specially while surrounded by assignments and classes?
  2. How can Aamir and Madhavan play characters who are half as old as them?
  3. Why does Boman always gets to play the “kal-ka-bhula-ghar-laut-aya” character (notice – Munnabhai series)?
  4. How can the audience cry in a movie like this where the only person you feel sorry for is “Chatur Ramalingam”?
  5. Really bad direction … did not expect Raju Hirani to do such a bad job.

Saying all this, after 6 days of mulling over the movie, I’ve come to the conclusion that 3 Idiots need to be watched by every teenager and their parents to inspire them to race towards excellence rather than success. Then India will have a better class of parents and a more free-er and more talented youth.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sadfellow permalink
    February 22, 2010 3:01 AM

    serious bullshit. woman you need to see lot more movies, to even start bloging. Let me guess, you do things for the heck of it. you dont really enjoy things. And please, please do visit more sites, to get inspired in life. to start with StumbleUpon can help. also start reading the engadget blog.

    And trust me on this- ‘you dont understand the D of direction’. what you do is, get a copy of the book, “Lord of the Rings”. step 2: read it. than watch the triology. You will understand how imaginations of the pages are transformed into motion picture.

    last point: all people in the movie are actors. the one and only one question is- ‘did they do justice to their role’. in layman’s term ‘acting kaisa tha?’. point like the actor in real life has two wives, 5 kids, three servants, one driver whose age is 90, etc, etc is called gossip.

    Hope you become a good critic one day, just get inspired.

    • crankywriter permalink*
      February 22, 2010 3:30 AM

      I don’t endorse myself as a movie critic. I have my own likes and dislikes and I like to have an opinion. And that is the reason why I have a blog.

      You have an opinion too as I can see in this great big reply. Thanks so much for reading this blog post and writing the comment. You’re always welcome to read more and voice out your opinions like this.

      Thanks Sadfellow 🙂

  2. February 25, 2010 2:08 PM

    The picture with artificial buttocks is obscene. The movie, however, is alright.

    • crankywriter permalink*
      February 26, 2010 8:38 AM

      Yes, thinking of it … it is obscene. Thanks for commenting 😀

      PS: I still want to keep this picture. I chose this one because there were no faces … only heads. I wanted a faceless picture.

Leave a Reply

