Skip to content

Oscar ‘Fever’

February 2, 2011

A movie buff can only understand my dilemma. I’m suffering from a fever called ‘Oscar’. Its symptoms are insomnia affected hours of watching an Oscar nominated/awarded movie, mental movie reverberations, mumblings of Oscar facts and backache due to watching movies after movies after …

Are you one of us? If yes, you will know what I was doing at around 2AM last night. Star movies was showing Titanic and because my husband had to sleep early because it was office night, I couldn’t watch it. Unable to sleep under the stress of missing the ‘action’ I decided to force myself to sleep. But sleep is a mindless bitch. She stays away when mind commands and heart does not respond. Heart wanted Titanic, mind said “nap time … dive inside your covers” and I was anyways messed up.

Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice (1982)

Enough! No more mind games. Let the heart drive. Out comes my 10 inch Acer Aspire. Throwing the covers over my head in the dead dark of the night, I switched on. Blue light flooded the room like sunshine and my heart leapt with joy. Entering the movies folder was more anticipating than waiting for my salary. I chose to watch the 1982 classic “Sophie’s Choice”, the story based in America about a young writer befriending a Jewish American and a Polish Catholic who had suffered from the Hitler’s holocaust.

I had never seen the movie before. All I knew was Meryl Streep won the Academy award for best actress and my favorite mother-daughter team, Lorelai and Rory Gilmore were fond of this movie. This was reason enough for me to spend the next 2 hours 31 mins in the dark room with only the netbook light under the covers with my husband sleeping (un)soundly to watch the schizophrenic antics of Nathan Landau, heart-rending Sophie’s past and experiences of young Stingo as he tries hard to live as a writer only to be sucked into the fun and dramatic life of the passionate couple.

Now, after waking up late in the morning, getting lessons on gastric instability caused by sleepless nights and spending the major part of the morning thinking about choices Sophie makes in her life, I decided to record my experience here. This is testimonial to the fact that Oscar fever is real and will be experienced by all movie buffs all around the world.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 10:29 PM

    Hi Pallavi Gupta, Long time, how you been? After a very long time IndiBlogger is coming back to our favorite city Kolkata Its been 2 years. We hope to catch up again at the meet!Have you signed up for Kolkata IndiBlogger Meet If you haven’t already, do sign up today, Only 200 seats available. Entry is free with loads of fun. Cheers,
    Vineet
    IndiBlogger Team

  2. GSR permalink
    February 26, 2011 1:40 PM

    Amazing!! How do you write so well? Fascinates me every time!
    -SomeOneUKnow 😛

Leave a Reply

